Superyacht Australia, the peak body for the country’s superyacht sector, recently elected its committee for the 2014 year.

Barry Jenkins was re-elected committee chairperson, while Murray Owen, MD of Marine Engineering Consultants, was elected as Superyacht Australia’s representative on the board of the Australian International Marine Export Group (AIMEX).

Owen was an integral part of the previous SYBA board and brings with him a wealth of knowledge in the marine export, commercial and superyacht sectors.

The Superyacht Australia committee is comprised of one representative from each of the four regional clusters: Carrie Carter, chairperson of the Superyacht Group Great Barrier Reef; Mike Cippitelli, chairman of Marine Western Australia (WA), Byron Rabone, chairman of Superyachts Queensland; and Richard Morris, executive director of the NSW Superyacht Industry Association.

In addition to cluster representatives, the AIMEX board has appointed a number of Superyacht Australia corporate members to the committee to ensure broad representation of the superyacht industry. These include Matthew Reaume of MTU, Doug Jarvis from the City of Melbourne, Denis Maher of BSE, Kane Bygrave of Aurora Global Logistics and Deale Stanley-Hunt of Awlgrip.

Superyacht Australia was established in 1999 to promote the Australian superyacht sector’s capabilities globally. The association is a division of AIMEX.